Wolves of winter

17.99

For the Dogs, the war has only just begun. Caught up in the siege of Calais, in the midst of a brutal eleven-month blockade of a small port on the French coast, they are no longer blindly walking into the unknown. But the men still have more questions than answers about what faces them – and why. What are they really fighting for? And why does the king care so much about taking such a small French town? The Dogs aren’t paid to ask questions but in their work, they have the means to make people talk. Soon, their journey will reveal who really wants this war to last for a hundred years. And as the battle rages, they hear the first, faint, chesty rattle of a natural disaster that is sweeping towards the Dogs and their world.

Out of stock

SKU: 9781838937959 Category: Tag:

Description

Nobody but Dan Jones could write this story… It captures the grime, blood, sweat and friendship of medieval war brilliantly.’ GARETH RUSSELLAN ENDLESS WAR.A BLOOD-SOAKED BATTLEFIELD.A BAND OF BROTHERS1347. Bruised and bloodied by an epic battle at Crécy, six soldiers of fortune known as the Essex Dogs pick through the wreckage of the fighting – and their own lives.Now a new siege is beginning, and the Dogs are sent to attack the soaring walls of Calais. King Edward has vowed no Englishman will leave France til this city falls. To get home, they must survive a merciless winter in a lawless camp deadlier than any battlefield.Obsessed with tracking down the vanished Captain, Loveday struggles to control his own men. Romford is haunted by the reappearance of a horrific figure from his past. And Scotsman is spiralling into a pit of drink, violence and self-pity.The Dogs are being torn apart – but this war is far from over. It won’t be long before they lose more of their own?From a vast siege camp built outside Calais’ walls, to pirate ships patrolling the harbour, and finally into the darkest corners of oligarchs’ houses inside a starving city, this captivating and darkly comic story brings the fourteenth century vividly to life. A searing tale about merchants, money and the medieval ‘deep state’, this is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.Praise for Essex Dogs:‘Oddly joyous – rolling action, fast-paced, a book that draws you in page by page. The way Dan Jones writes enemies reminds me of Cornwell at his best, turning up tension click by click.’ CONN IGGULDEN‘A testosterone fuelled, blood soaked rampage across the Middle Ages, this is the Hundred Years’ War as directed by Oliver Stone with a historian’s eye for detail’ ELODIE HARPER‘A new champion has entered the front line of historical fiction to stand shoulder to shoulder with Bernard Cornwell.’ JANE JOHNSON ‘Battle-bloody, brutal and perfectly pitched.’ DAILY MAIL‘With a cast of unforgettable characters, written with irrepressible verve.’ SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE

Additional information

Weight 0.496 kg
Dimensions 22.9 × 14.8 × 3.3 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

512

Language

English

Edition

Export ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Wolves of winter”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *